Dan Franciscus avatar

Five PowerShell cmdlets for Beginners

8 hours ago | Dan Franciscus

For years, Windows PowerShell has been the scripting language of choice for Microsoft IT professionals, and for good reason. The strength of PowerShell over other languages is the simplicity and readability that allows novice scripters and programmers learn it quickly. By default, in new Windows operating systems (currently Windows 10 and Windows Server 2019), installed+ Read More The post Five PowerShell cmdlets for Beginners appeared first on WinSysBlog.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Going Down the Right %PATH% with PowerShell

10 hours ago | Jeff Hicks

I trust that most of you are aware that the reason it is often easy to run command and programs in Windows, especially items from the command prompt, is thanks to a system environmental variable called PATH. When you tell Windows to run a command, without using the complete path to the program, Windows looks […] Check out my PowerShell Essentials page https://jdhitsolutions.com/blog/essentia

Adam Bertram avatar

Detecting What Got Deleted with PowerShell and Netwrix

2 days ago | Adam Bertram

In the file storage business, it’s not difficult for the sheer quantity of files and folders you manage to get out of hand very quickly. As well as raw storage can scale for a business, maintenance of the storage becomes more and more cumbersome. Between all of the group and permission settings, files growing disorganized, […] The post Detecting What Got Deleted with PowerShell and Netwrix appeared first on Adam the Automator - DevOps, Automation, PowerShell.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Sort AD Users if they belong to AD Group

3 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Quicky Dirty So here’s the situation - a user on reddit asked a question: Get-Help How can I compare two arrays? (Active directory) I have an array containing disabled users. $disabledusers I have an array containing groups that disabled users belong to. $groups Not all users in the disabled users array belong to a group. How can I print only the users from $disabledusers that belong to a group? ($groups)? Find-Solution If I assume that $disabledUsers contain full AD Objects (not only samaccounts) and $groups contain a list of groups then this would like like this: $Groups | ForEach-Object { $Members = Get-ADGroupMember $PSItem Compare-Object -ReferenceObject $Members.

Mike Robbins avatar

Enable Tab Completion in VSCode for a PowerShell ISE like Experience

3 days ago | Mike Robbins

I’m using VSCode for all of my PowerShell development at this point. I reloaded my system from scratch on March 13th of this year. Yesterday was the first time I’ve opened the PowerShell ISE since then and it was only to determine if something worked differently between the two (I tweeted this out yesterday). One of the common problems I hear about and have experienced myself with VSCode (Visual Studio Code) is that tabbed expansion of command and parameter names doesn’t work like it does in the ISE (Integrated Scripting Environment).

Jeff Hicks avatar

Azure PowerShell Virtual Workshop

4 days ago | Jeff Hicks

Some of you may have seen the announcement last week about a 2-day virtual workshop I am doing with CloudSkills.fm.  I will be presenting along with side veteran cloud expert Mike Pfeiffer and Azure training master Tim Warner. We will be running a 2 day online deep dive into PowerShell and Azure. The goal is […] Check out my PowerShell Essentials page https://jdhitsolutions.com/blog/essentia

Emmanuel Demilliere avatar

Enable Remote Mailbox CSUser Office 365

4 days ago | Emmanuel Demilliere

Enable Remote Mailbox CSUser Office 365 Hello, When you work with an hybrid deployment of Office 365, new object creation is a bit tricky, depending on where they will land. Indeed, you can’t create a user directly in Office 365 and hope for the best. This won’t work because your Active Directory is still the start of authority of your users attributes. Exchange When you create an Office 365 mailbox, without using the local Exchange portal/PowerShell, the Exchange Online mailbox won’t be seen by your local Exchange organization.

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Meet Emailimo – New way to send pretty emails with PowerShell

7 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

When reading this blog post, you may be thinking that there's nothing new one can add to emailing with PowerShell as there were tons of articles in recent years covering this subject pretty good. It's all known, and people have used it since the early days of PowerShell. You can even send an email with just one line using Send-MailMessage. Now, this post is not about that. This post is about sending HTML based emails.

Jerome Bezet-Torres avatar

New PowerShell Module for update your Powershell modules

8 days ago | Jerome Bezet-Torres

I decide ton convert an WPF application here into a powershell module for update your powershell module installed in your local machine. 1.How to install it For install the module you can use this powershell command : PS> Install-Module -name UpdatePwshModule This release works with Powershell 5.1 1.2 Function available...

Prateek Singh avatar

PowerShell Influencer of the Week – Doug Finke

8 days ago | Prateek Singh

Introduction Hello Readers, welcome to my new blog series “PowerShell Influencer of the Week“, where I’ll Interview one PowerShell Influencer, Microsoft Awarded MVP or a PowerShell Community Contributor and publish it every... The post PowerShell Influencer of the Week – Doug Finke appeared first on Ridicurious.

Mike Robbins avatar

Run SQL Server PowerShell Cmdlets as a Different User

8 days ago | Mike Robbins

One of the ways I practice the principal of least privilege is by logging into my computer as a domain user who is also a standard local user. I typically run PowerShell as a domain user who is a local admin and elevate on a per command basis using a domain account with more access only when absolutely necessary. The problem I’ve run into is neither the account I’m logged into my computer as or the one I’m running PowerShell as has the ability to execute SQL queries that I need to run against various SQL servers in my environment.

Kevin Marquette avatar

Powershell: Building Micro Modules

8 days ago | Kevin Marquette

I am a big fan of modules as a way to package and distribute PowerShell functions. I create modules all the time and I tend to use a fairly robust set of build and release scripts. More recently, I have wanted to release an individual advanced function as a module...

Maverick Sevmont avatar

Get Server's OOBM IP (iLO, iDrac, iRMC etc.) remotely with PowerShell

9 days ago | Maverick Sevmont

So, there comes a time in every sysadmin's life when they need to make inventory of hardware servers and no one knows what the IP address for the OOBM devices is anymore. Their DNS records are rarely setup, and the major problem is of course, that you have 1000+ different servers from a variety of … Continue reading "Get Server's OOBM IP (iLO, iDrac, iRMC etc.) remotely with PowerShell"

Retrieving Youtube video information from Google APIs using PowerShell

10 days ago

Summary In this article I’ll describe how you can query data from Youtube by using the Google Apis and PowerShell. A few days back, I saw a repository on Github from a fellow Microsoft MVP Julio Arruda that was using the PowerShell MVP module to populate Youtube videos views into his MVP Contributions. I thought it was a great way to use the MVP module so I wanted to document the process. Note: The same approach can be used for the different Google services.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Microsoft Monitoring Agent - Clear Cache

11 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

When things go bad There are situations where clearing the cache helps. Be it DNS cache, memory cache or, like in this example, Microsoft Monitoring Agent cache. This did bite me a bit lately. I was testing Update Management as part of Azure Automation to manage patch management for on-premises Hyper-V VMs and standalone servers. Everything went smooth and I decided to move VMs between Azure Log Analytics workspaces - from test to production.

Moving my blog comments from Disqus to Github issues using PowerShell

13 days ago

Update 2019/04/12 Adding a preview of the results In this post I’m documenting my blog comment migration from Disqus to Github Issues using PowerShell. It was stricky… hopefully the diagrams help you to understand what I was trying to resolve. Hosting my comments on Disqus When I initially started to blog on Google Blogger I did not really care where my comments where stored. I was happy with the solution provided by Google which allow the readers to authenticate using different systems or to remain anonymous.

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Out-HtmlView – HTML alternative to Out-GridView

13 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

One of the most comfortable output's in PowerShell to work and analyze data is Out-GridView. It's handy as you can search, sort and have things done quicker than trying to do things in the console. However it's currently not available in PowerShell Core (PowerShell 6+), and when it is available in PowerShell 7, it will NOT be cross-platform.  Since I had released Dashimo a few days ago, I thought it was trivial to make a simple command out of it that could solve this problem.

Rob Sewell avatar

Adding a Folder of Scripts to GitHub

14 days ago | Rob Sewell

Yesterday there was a tweet from Allen White. Allen wanted to add his scripts folder to source control but didn’t have a how to do it handy. So I thought I would write one. Hopefully this will enable someone new to GitHub and to source control get a folder of scripts under source control GitHub […]

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Dashimo – Easy Table Conditional Formatting and more

15 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

Dashimo ultimate goal is to be as easy to use as possible. With the introduction of it a few days ago I made a promise to myself that I want to keep it as simple to use as possible. If you don't know what Dashimo is, have a read here - Meet Dashimo. When I posted it on Reddit few people had some ideas and feature request that would make it a bit nicer, and when I heard about I agreed. So today, after a couple of days I have a few updates.

Mike Robbins avatar

Audit Membership of the Local Admins Group with PowerShell

15 days ago | Mike Robbins

Recently, I needed to make sure that specific accounts were members of the local administrators group on several servers along with making sure that no other users were members of it. PowerShell version 5.1 introduced a module named Microsoft.PowerShell.LocalAccounts that contains the following commands for managing local users and groups. Checking the group membership is as easy as running Get-LocalGroupMember within the script block of Invoke-Command and targeting remote systems.

Pawel Jarosz avatar

New-ComplianceSearch BUG – ExchangeLocation gets cleared.

15 days ago | Pawel Jarosz

Just creating some script for GDPR email removal mechanism, and noticed one interesting thing – already reported this bug to MS. Last time when I got issue about Compliance Searches it was that when telling it to “purge” the messages it was not really purging the messages – I flagged that you need to use … Continue reading New-ComplianceSearch BUG – ExchangeLocation gets cleared.

Mike Kanakos avatar

RTPSUG - Enterprise Reporting & Notifications with PowerShell

16 days ago | Mike Kanakos

Learn the possibilities of creating eye-catching reports and sending data to other mediums other than just HTML and email!

Jeff Hicks avatar

Extending PowerShell and Docker Containers

17 days ago | Jeff Hicks

I’ve been continuing to tinker with my PowerShell command for getting information about Docker containers. The Docker CLI is fine, but it is very difficult to work with the output or do much with it. That’s why I prefer to have objects in a PowerShell pipeline. One of the Docker container elements that I ignored […] Check out my PowerShell Essentials page https://jdhitsolutions.c

Sergey Vasin avatar

sthArgumentCompleter – a PowerShell module that allows you to manage argument completers registered by Register-ArgumentCompleter cmdlet

17 days ago | Sergey Vasin

Register-ArgumentCompleter cmdlet allows you to register argument completers, both custom and native, but there are no integrated ways to get argument completers registered in the current session or to remove some of them. sthArgumentCompleter – is a module that allows… Continue reading →

Sergey Vasin avatar

sthArgumentCompleter — модуль PowerShell для работы с механизмами завершения аргументов, зарегистрированными при помощи команды Register-ArgumentCompleter

17 days ago | Sergey Vasin

Команда Register-ArgumentCompleter позволяет регистрировать механизмы завершения аргументов обоих типов — Custom и Native, однако же у нас нет какой-либо встроенной возможности для получения информации о тех механизмах, что уже зарегистрированны в текущей сессии, или же для удаления некоторых из них.… Читать далее →

Josh King avatar

Crouton #10 - Cold Shoulder (Taps)

17 days ago | Josh King

If you can forgive incomplete help, the latest update of BurntToast has some cool new features. First one we'll be covering is Shoulder Taps!

Rob Sewell avatar

Generating a Workload against AdventureWorks with PowerShell

17 days ago | Rob Sewell

For a later blog post I have been trying to generate some workload against an AdventureWorks database. I found this excellent blog post by Pieter Vanhove t https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/msftpietervanhove/2016/01/08/generate-workload-on-your-azure-sql-database/ which references this 2011 post by Jonathan Kehayias thttps://www.sqlskills.com/blogs/jonathan/the-adventureworks2008r2-books-online-

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Meet Dashimo – PowerShell Generated Dashboard

18 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

Today I wanted to introduce a little product that I've created in the last few weeks called Dashimo. It doesn't cover everything I wanted from it (feature wise), but it already can be used in production. Therefore, I thought it would be a good idea to get some feedback on whether I should spend some more time on it or throw it in the dumpster. Dashimo joins it's older brother Statusimo of PowerShell modules allowing an easy way to build HTML output.

Tommy Maynard avatar

PowerShell.org New Posts – 03/2019

18 days ago | Tommy Maynard

Here’s my PowerShell.org posts for March 2019 — enjoy! March 2019 Really, Remove the Module – March 13, 2019 Linux Prompt X – March 30, 2019

Bradley Wyatt avatar

Master User Creator [PowerShell GUI Software] v2 Update

18 days ago | Bradley Wyatt

I usually do not post articles on updates to software that I write but there are so many great updates in Master User Creator V2 that I had to make another write up. Master User Creator (MUC) is a piece of software that makes creating Active Directory and/or Office 365 users easier and more efficient.  One of the drawbacks of creating a user in Active Directory Users and Computers (ADUC) is that you have to first create the user, and then find the user and edit their attributes, modify group membership, and so on.

Quais livros usei para aprender Powershell?

19 days ago | Guido Oliveira

Olá, Sempre me perguntam quais livros são bons para iniciantes aprenderem Powershell ou quais livros utilizei como referência para aprender Powershell no começo, então resolvi gravar […] O post Quais livros usei para aprender Powershell? apareceu primeiro em Guido Oliveira.

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Backing up Bitlocker Keys and LAPS passwords from Active Directory

19 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

Having a modern, secure infrastructure in 2019 is a requirement. You should implement BitLocker to make sure that in the event of stolen laptop data is not readily extractable and implementing LAPS is a must in a fast changing IT world. But I'm not here to convince you to those two security features. I'm here to show you an easy way to backup LAPS and BitLocker. While having everything stored in Active Directory is excellent, things can get complicated when you don't have access to your Active Directory, or you restore an older version of it.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

WSLab - your private demolishion center

20 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

What is WSLab Some long time ago while searching for issues with S2D I came across a tool called ws2016lab written by Jaromir Kaspar. Back then (over 2 year ago (woah, it’s been over 3 since it came out - Building out labs) I needed a fast way to spin up S2D labs and break them. As it was growing and inluded Windows 2019 and Windows 10 as well, Jaromir decided to rebrand it to WSLab. What is WSLab? It is a library of sample scripts to deploy an environment where you can just KKND (Anyone remembers Krush Kill ‘N Destroy - then take look :smile: ).

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Creating Visual Indicators for spoofed / external emails with PowerShell

20 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

I've been managing mail service for users for a lot of years now. I don't do it daily but I've spent my fair share of time analyzing spam emails. Mail vendors are doing what they can fighting spam, but it's not easy. Each month, each year spam is getting more sophisticated. Spam emails either look like a legit email, or worse someone is targeting your company trying to get them to transfer money into a wrong account.

Nicholas Dille avatar

Talk about Developing #PowerShell Modules at Azure Meetup #Freiburg

21 days ago | Nicholas Dille

This week I had the opportunity to speak at the Azure and .NET Meetup Freiburg about developing PowerShell modules. Thanks for having me! Please find the slides here. The demos are part of the repository hosting the slides.

Jeff Hicks avatar

More Fun with Docker Containers and PowerShell

21 days ago | Jeff Hicks

A few days ago I shared some experiences of working with Docker containers and PowerShell. As I continue to learn Docker, I am also learning how to manage it with PowerShell. The Docker command line tools are fine but I think they are even better when drizzled with a nice PowerShell glaze. Here’s a bit […] Check out my PowerShell Essentials page https://jdhitsolutions.com/blog/essentia

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Accessing AzureVM with NLA and broken domain trust relationship

22 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

Hosting your VM's in Azure Cloud is excellent. You have all those features, professionally managed and virtually limitless. I don't want to take your time to sell you Azure Services but to share a solution to one of the things I had to solve in Azure and sooner or later you may end up with on. During the test restore for Active Directory and multiple other machines which were much older (or newer) then Active Directory Domain Controller that was restored it turned out one can't log in to most of the devices.

Analisando seus scripts com o módulo PSScriptAnalyzer

22 days ago | Guido Oliveira

Olá, Sempre que estamos fazendo algum script na pressa, deixamos de nos preocupar com varias questões como uso de apelidos(“alias”) dos comandos, formatação, performance, etc. Apenas […] O post Analisando seus scripts com o módulo PSScriptAnalyzer apareceu primeiro em Guido Oliveira.

Maverick Sevmont avatar

PowerShell Jumpstart Series

23 days ago | Maverick Sevmont

Full Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1r80mddOpok&list=PL-CiBNPRVIA2KhV94GXuIv2_nQGvyrkJs Hi! This course is aimed at desktop support analysts or sysadmins looking to learn PowerShell. If you have no idea where to start, this is for you. The series runs across 7 episodes, 1 hour of content in total. My suggestion is to watch an episode per week, practice the concepts, get … Cont

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Active Directory – The directory service was unable to allocate a relative identifier

23 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

I've been testing Disaster Recovery scenario restoring Active Directory. One of the servers was restored, and it worked for a moment after restore. If you can regain your Primary DC, it's best to do so. If you can't, a standard thing to do during DR is to move all FSMO roles to the restored server so that it can become a master server. You can find out your FSMO holders by using those commands below: The post Active Directory – The directory service was unable to allocate a relative identifier appeared first on Evotec.

Realizando testes de conectividade em uma subnet utilizando powershell

23 days ago | Guido Oliveira

Olá, No dia a dia é relativamente comum precisarmos determinar se os dispositivos estão respondendo a Ping ou não, para isso resolvi fazer um pequeno script […] O post Realizando testes de conectividade em uma subnet utilizando powershell apareceu primeiro em Guido Oliveira.

Chris Gardner avatar

Enforcing Code Style using Pester

24 days ago | Chris Gardner

As part of an ongoing effort to improve code quality and consistency across the company we decided to apply the same principles to PowerShell code as we would apply to our C# and other code, since code is code no matter what language it is written in or who maintains it. With this in mind a few of us sat down many months ago and figured out what our style should be using the community style guide as a baseline and picking the things we’d like to apply.

Jeff Hicks avatar

PowerShell Remoting Sessions and Containers

24 days ago | Jeff Hicks

This year I’ve been ramping up my work with containers via the Docker Desktop application. When Windows Server 2016 was in preview Microsoft tried out some PowerShell cmdlets for working with containers but they never went anywhere. Essentially, the docker command line has become the defacto management tool. There are some modules in the PowerShell […] Check out my PowerShell Essentials page https://jdhitsolutions.

Configurando o OpenSSH no Windows Server 2019

24 days ago | Guido Oliveira

Olá pessoal,   O OpenSSH Server vem como uma Capability adicional no Windows 10 e no Windows Server 2019, para versões mais antigas, você pode baixar […] O post Configurando o OpenSSH no Windows Server 2019 apareceu primeiro em Guido Oliveira.

Using the MVP PowerShell module (video)

25 days ago

Here is a recording to demo how you can install, configure and use the MVP PowerShell module to add your contributions into the MVP Website. # Install the module Install-Module -Name MVP -Scope CurrentUser -Verbose # Configure your connection Set-MVPConfiguration -SubscriptionKey 2ed3d4ddf0e948a28caeebba64620d20 # List the commands available Get-Command -Module MVP # Retrieve my profile Get-MVPProfile # Add a new MVP Entry New-MVPContribution ` -StartDate '2019/03/26' ` -Title 'Test From MVP Module' ` -Description '' ` -ReferenceUrl 'https://lazywinadmin.

Luc Fullenwarth avatar

What is captured with PowerShell transcripts

26 days ago | Luc Fullenwarth

I recently wrote a post about how to create log files with PowerShell transcription capabilities. What I like about PowerShell transcripts is simplicity. However, as I said in my former post if you want to get the most of it, you should use the Verbose parameter with each cmdlet you launch. Thus, when a warning […]

Thomas Rayner avatar

A Weekend At A High Schoolers Hackathon

26 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Whoa, it’s been a while since I got a post out. Between my slower posting schedule and the fact that I moved from WordPress to GitHub pages (and changed the domain), it’s a miracle I have any SEO points left at all! Anyway, that’s not really the point of this post. The point of this post is to talk about the cool event I attended recently in Columbus, Ohio. Spoiler alert: I was blown away. If you like (or don’t like) the story time format blog posts, please let me know my tweeting me: @MrThomasRayner.

James Petty avatar

Privileged Access Management

28 days ago | James Petty

One of my favorite new features of AD 2016 is Privileged Access Management. This feature allows you to add a user to a global group for a set amount of time. This will be useful for temporary rights to the RDP or local administrator groups on servers. Using the –MemberTimeToLive parameter we are able to […]

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Changing Exchange folder permissions in multilanguage Office 365 tenants

28 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

One of the tasks I often get when setting up new Office 365 tenant or installing Exchange Servers is to change the visibility of Room Mailboxes or in some cases even standard users. There's nothing hard about it, and there are plenty of articles about it. It's just three simple steps. The post Changing Exchange folder permissions in multilanguage Office 365 tenants appeared first on Evotec.

Prateek Singh avatar

PowerShell Influencer of the Week – Stéphane Van Gulick

29 days ago | Prateek Singh

Introduction Hello Readers, welcome to the first post of a new series “PowerShell Influencer of the Week“, where I’ll Interview one PowerShell Influencer, Microsoft Awarded MVP or a PowerShell Community Contributor and... The post PowerShell Influencer of the Week – Stéphane Van Gulick appeared first on Ridicurious.