Jeff Hicks avatar

Active Directory Objects and the PowerShell Pipeline

an hour ago | Jeff Hicks

This article is something I’ve been meaning to write for sometime. As often as I tell people PowerShell is easy to use once you understand its core concepts, that isn’t always the case.  This is a problem my friend Gladys Kravitz brought to my attention some time ago. Like her, you probably have written a...

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring O365 unused products

8 hours ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

As an MSP we manage a lot of clients, and I’m pretty sure we’ve all been in situations where a client had some leavers in the company and not notify us as the administrators, or that the client had some very inactive users that don’t really need to be licensed or could be converted to […] The post Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring O365 unused products appeared first on CyberDrain.

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – September 25, 2020

3 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Adam Bertram avatar

Exchange Online Plan 1 and Exchange Online Plan 2: What’s the Difference?

4 days ago | Adam Bertram

If your organization is looking to get a cloud email service, Microsoft offers several subscriptions that include Exchange Online. Among these subscriptions is the Exchange Online Plan, 1 which is priced at $4.00 user/month and Exchange Online Plan 2, which is priced as double at $8.00 user/month. The post Exchange Online Plan 1 and Exchange Online Plan 2: What’s the Difference? appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Documenting with PowerShell: O365 Groups (And Warranty updates)

4 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

This one was request by a pal of mine that I know via a MSP discord; He wanted a way to document the users in O365 groups and see what type of group it was in one go. To do this, we’re leveraging the Graph API. As in most of my blogs I have a […] The post Documenting with PowerShell: O365 Groups (And Warranty updates) appeared first on CyberDrain.


Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 10 - Physical Security Requirements

5 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 10 covers implementing site and facility security controls, designing sites and facilities, and generally protecting things from physical threats. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2. I went about studying for the test a few ways: I used the PocketPrep app I attended a study bootcamp I did a bunch of practice tests And finally… I got the ISC2 CISSP official study guide - I read it cover to cover, and highlighted and annotated the entire thing.

Adam Bertram avatar

Getting Started Managing Docker with VS Code

5 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post Getting Started Managing Docker with VS Code appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Adam Bertram avatar

Static vs Dynamic Websites: What’s the Difference?

6 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post Static vs Dynamic Websites: What’s the Difference? appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Prateek Singh avatar

PowerShell to C# & back: Reading Password Securely from Console

6 days ago | Prateek Singh

Introduction Very often it is required to obtain a password from the user from a console in a PowerShell script or C#\.NET console application, in this blog post we are... The post PowerShell to C# & back: Reading Password Securely from Console appeared first on Ridicurious.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 9 - Security Vulnerabilities, Threats, and Countermeasures

7 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 9 gets into assessing and mitigating the vulnerabilities of security architectures, designs, and solution elements. It also talks about assessing and mitigating vulnerabilities in web-based systems, mobile systems, and embedded devices. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2. I went about studying for the test a few ways: I used the PocketPrep app I attended a study bootcamp I did a bunch of practice tests And finally… I got the ISC2 CISSP official study guide - I read it cover to cover, and highlighted and annotated the entire thing.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Documenting with PowerShell: Documenting mobile devices

7 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

This was a request by a friend in one of the peer groups I operate in. He wanted a method to document which mobile devices exist in a O365 tenant and put them into IT-Glue as configurations. I figured I’d help him real quick and blog about it. The IT-Glue version creates configurations of each […] The post Documenting with PowerShell: Documenting mobile devices appeared first on CyberDrain.

Prateek Singh avatar

Weekly Newsletter – PowerShell Digest #009

10 days ago | Prateek Singh

Introduction If you want to stay on top of #PowerShell community and whatever is happening around the world related to PowerShell then you are at the right place friend! In... The post Weekly Newsletter – PowerShell Digest #009 appeared first on Ridicurious.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 8 - Principles of Security, Models, Design, and Capabilities

10 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 8 covers implementing and managing engineering processes using secure design principles, the fundamental concepts of security models, how to select controls based on security requirements, and understanding security capabilities of information systems. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – September 18, 2020

10 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Xajuan Smith avatar

Using Object properties

10 days ago | Xajuan Smith

A lot of people see PowerShell as conversion tool, but it can do so much more. It can uninstall apps, inventory your applications. Rename files to a standard. Create shares, modify files and sessions and give an Administrator access to a computer without interrupting a session. It is built on .net/c# so it can do… Continue reading Using Object properties

Adam Bertram avatar

Exploring File Recovery in Windows 10

11 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post Exploring File Recovery in Windows 10 appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Kiran Patnayakuni avatar

PowerShell: 101-vm-secure-password

11 days ago | Kiran Patnayakuni

This is an Azure quickstart sample PowerShell script based on ARM template 101-vm-secure-password from the GitHub repository azure\azure-quickstart-templates, and this script will deploy following the resources…

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 7 - PKI and Cryptographic Applications

12 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 7 is all about applying cryptography. It covers the cryptographic lifecycle, methods, Public Key Infrastructure, and key management practices. It also covers Digital signatures, nonrepudiation, integrity, cryptanalytic attacks, and Digital Rights Management. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Documenting with PowerShell: Hyper-v and physical server settings

12 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

So a while back I helped people documenting their physical servers, the biggest complaint about that blog was that “at a glance” you couldn’t really see what the server did, if it was a cluster member or not, and how the physical layout of the server was. For this, I decided to rewrite that blog […] The post Documenting with PowerShell: Hyper-v and physical server settings appeared first on CyberDrain.

Adam Bertram avatar

How to Convert Markdown to HTML

12 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post How to Convert Markdown to HTML appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Kiran Patnayakuni avatar

PowerShell: 101-vm-multiple-data-disk

12 days ago | Kiran Patnayakuni

This is an Azure quickstart sample PowerShell script based on ARM template 101-vm-multiple-data-disk from the GitHub repository azure\azure-quickstart-templates, and this script will deploy following the resources…

Alex Neihaus avatar

Windows ssh settings and configuration

13 days ago | Alex Neihaus

Living through the agony and ecstasy of configuring ssh on Windows The post Windows ssh settings and configuration first appeared on Thinking aloud.

Adam Bertram avatar

PowerShell Logging: Recording and Auditing all the Things

13 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post PowerShell Logging: Recording and Auditing all the Things appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Kiran Patnayakuni avatar

PowerShell: 101-vm-simple-rhel

13 days ago | Kiran Patnayakuni

This is an Azure quickstart sample PowerShell script based on ARM template 101-vm-simple-rhel from the GitHub repository azure\azure-quickstart-templates, and this script will deploy following the resources…

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 6 - Cryptography and Symmetric Key Algorithms

14 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 6 covers data security controls, understanding data states, and then it gets into cryptography. This chapter goes into assessing and mitigating vulnerabilities of systems related to cryptography, cryptographic lifecycle and methods, nonrepudiation, and data integrity. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Visually display Active Directory Trusts using PowerShell

14 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

The post Visually display Active Directory Trusts using PowerShell appeared first on Evotec.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring network traffic

14 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

My holidays are over, and it’s back to blogging! I hope you all enjoyed the previous webinar I did in my holidays. For me it was a lot of fun and I’m doing a more advanced one soon, when I find some time. for now I’m going to be quite busy with other speaking engagements […] The post Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring network traffic appeared first on CyberDrain.

Mike Kanakos avatar

Join Me at MS Ignite 2020

15 days ago | Mike Kanakos

I'm co-hosting a table talk session about PowerShell at MS Ignite on Sept 23rd. Join me to learn about how to get more from the community!

Xajuan Smith avatar

PowerShell Importing Data from Excel

15 days ago | Xajuan Smith

If you want to import Excel data I recommend giving the people who toke the time to develop this module Import-Excel. It can be Read about on the PSGallery here: https://www.powershellgallery.com/packages/ImportExcel/ After reading we will try to find the module using built im module package for powershell : “find-module importexcel” we can pipe this into… Continue reading PowerS

Xajuan Smith avatar

Convert from OATime

16 days ago | Xajuan Smith

One of my favorite reasons I love PowerShell is because can tap into its programming roots for added power. I will demonstrate later in my post. Here is why: An OLE Automation date is implemented as a floating-point number whose integral component is the number of days before or after midnight, 30 December 1899, and… Continue reading Convert from OATime

Prateek Singh avatar

Weekly Newsletter – PowerShell Digest #008

16 days ago | Prateek Singh

Introduction If you want to stay on top of #PowerShell community and whatever is happening around the world related to PowerShell then you are at the right place friend! In... The post Weekly Newsletter – PowerShell Digest #008 appeared first on Ridicurious.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 5 - Protecting Security of Assets

17 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 5 is concerned with asset security. It discusses identifying and classifying information and assets, as well as determining how to maintain assets and identify asset owners. Chapter 5 also talks about protecting privacy, ensuring proper asset retention, determining data security controls, and establishing information and asset handling requirements. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Friday Fun: Back to School with PowerShell

17 days ago | Jeff Hicks

For today’s fun with PowerShell, I thought I’d share my solutions for a recent Iron Scripter challenge. If you aren’t familiar with these cghallenges, and you should be, they are designed to test your PowerShell skills and hopefully help you learn something new. There are challenges for all skill levels and you can tackle them...

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – September 11, 2020

17 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Adam Bertram avatar

How To Manage NTFS Permissions With PowerShell

18 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post How To Manage NTFS Permissions With PowerShell appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Powershell for beginners webinar Part 2

18 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

Lots of people joined the webinar, It was super cool and hopefully I taught you all something. The recording can be found here. I’m still sorting through the Q&A but gonna get a bite to eat first, feel free to add questions as the Q&A is still open, we have a total of 124 questions right […] The post Powershell for beginners webinar Part 2 appeared first on CyberDrain.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 4 - Laws, Regulations, and Compliance

19 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 4 covers a variety of topics related to determining compliance requirements, contractual and legal standards, and privacy requirements. It also includes information to help you understand legal and regulatory issues that relate to information security in a global context like data breaches, licensing requirements, and privacy. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Adam Bertram avatar

Azure Service Principals: How to Create (and Understand) Them

19 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post Azure Service Principals: How to Create (and Understand) Them appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Rob Sewell avatar

#tsql2sday #130 – Automate your stress away – Getting more SSIS Agent Job information

19 days ago | Rob Sewell

Automation T-SQL Tuesday was started by Adam Machanic (blog|twitter) is hosted by a different person each month. The host selects the theme, and then the blogging begins. worldwide, on the second Tuesday of the month (all day, based on GMT time), bloggers attend this party by blogging about the theme. This month it is hosted […]

Adam Bertram avatar

A Guide to Finally Understanding Azure VM Pricing

20 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post A Guide to Finally Understanding Azure VM Pricing appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Alexander Koehler avatar

PowerShell Funktion zur Prüfung Azure AD Benutzer oder Gäste

21 days ago | Alexander Koehler

Sobald man mit Cloud Diensten (speziell mit AzureAD) hantiert, kommt es immer wieder vor, dass man Abfragen ob ein Benutzer bereits vorhanden ist oder nicht. Ich musste mich diesem Szenario ebenfalls schon stellen. Nach dieser Erfahrung dachte ich mir, dass dies sicherlich noch mehr Leute brauchen könnten. Also habe ich meine Lösung hier online gestellt, […] Der Beitrag PowerShell Funktion zur Prüfung Azure AD Benutzer oder Gäste erschien zuerst auf it-koehler-blog.

Doug Finke avatar

Tiny PowerShell Projects

22 days ago | Doug Finke

Introduction Tiny PowerShell Projects is a step-wise set of challenges enabling you to go from newcomer to PoSher. In the link below, you’ll learn to write PowerShell that includes tests so you know when your solutions solves the puzzle. So, you’ll be learning PowerShell and how to test your scripts, for correctness. It also includes how to parameterize our scripts/programs so that they are flexible.

Azure Functions with PowerShell: Swiss army knife for Ops [English]

22 days ago

Note: This article is part of #ServerlessSeptember. You'll find other helpful articles, detailed tutorials, and videos in this all-things-Serverless content collection. New articles from community members and cloud advocates are published every week from Monday to Thursday through September. Find out more about how Microsoft Azure enables your Serverless functions at https://docs.microsoft.com/azure/azure-functions/.

Josh King avatar

Review: PowerShell for Sysadmins

22 days ago | Josh King

Are you a sysadmin? Looking to stop wearing out your mouse? Could this be the book for you?

Prateek Singh avatar

Weekly Newsletter – PowerShell Digest #007

23 days ago | Prateek Singh

Introduction If you want to stay on top of #PowerShell community and whatever is happening around the world related to PowerShell then you are at the right place friend! In... The post Weekly Newsletter – PowerShell Digest #007 appeared first on Ridicurious.


Adam Bertram avatar

Self Service your IT with PowerShell and au2mator

24 days ago | Adam Bertram

The post Self Service your IT with PowerShell and au2mator appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Xajuan Smith avatar

Formatting dates from text or objects

25 days ago | Xajuan Smith

Ever imported data just to have a non readable date stamp? Get-date can take your text that is a date and turn it into something more readable. Take “15-FEB-20” for example. It’s not really a wildly used format. Pipe that to get-date like so: Then you can format your date to remove time and what… Continue reading Formatting dates from text or objects

Kiran Patnayakuni avatar

PowerShell: 101-vm-simple-windows-visualstudio2019

25 days ago | Kiran Patnayakuni

This is a conversion of ARM template 101-vm-simple-windows-visualstudio2019 from the GitHub repository azure\azure-quickstart-templates to PowerShell Script, and this script will deploy following the resources…