Josh King avatar

Azure DevOps Pipelines Tune Up: Templates and Centralization

2 days ago | Josh King

After reading some awesome posts on the topic, I've been shamed into making my pipelines a little more efficient.

Adam Bertram avatar

The PowerShell WhatIf Parameter: Looking Before you Leap

2 days ago | Adam Bertram

Using the PowerShell WhatIf parameter and [CmdletBinding()], you can test the waters with potentially destructive PowerShell commands.

Quick Blog: Making the Power BI PowerShell cmdlets easier to use

3 days ago | Aaron Nelson

One of the top reasons I love PowerShell so much is that from the beginning, it was designed to let you, yes you, make it run better for the way you work. In fact,...

Adam Bertram avatar

NuGet and IIS on Windows Server: The Ultimate Guide

3 days ago | Adam Bertram

Go deep into setting up NuGet repositories on IIS and Windows Server using NuGet.Server, BaGet, ProGet and more!

Bradley Wyatt avatar

Post Notifications About Unused Office 365 Licenses to Teams using Azure Runbooks

4 days ago | Bradley Wyatt

I have written several articles on using PowerShell to send alerts and notifications to Microsoft Teams, but up until now they were set up using only the task scheduler. As more and more companies move to the cloud I wanted to see how I could do cloud infrastructure alerting as well. In this article I am using an Azure RunBook to connect to my Office 365 tenant, parse my licenses, and return any that need reconciliation.

Adam Bertram avatar

Psexec: The Ultimate Guide

4 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to download psexec, launch a psexec remote cmd, cover psexec examples and how to use psexec and PowerShell together!

Jonathan Medd avatar

Ansible, Windows and PowerShell: the Basics – Introduction

4 days ago | Jonathan Medd

Back in June of this year I presented a session at PowerShell Southampton on using Ansible and PowerShell together. There was a fair amount of interest in this topic both at the event and online afterwards, so I decided to follow it up here with a series of posts looking at the basics for someone … Continue reading Ansible, Windows and PowerShell: the Basics – Introduction →

Dan Franciscus avatar

Using Make Me Admin For Administrator Privilege

5 days ago | Dan Franciscus

In this article, we discuss how to grant users simple admin rights temporarily like installing software. This helps keep IT from getting bogged down. One of the more frequent conflicts between an IT department and an end user is the use of administrative privileges. End users are used to having this permission on their personal+ Read More The post Using Make Me Admin For Administrator Privilege appeared first on WinSysBlog.

Adam Bertram avatar

Bring Dynamic Tab Completion to any Parameter with PowerShell ArgumentCompleters

5 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how you can add tab-completion to any PowerShell command parameter using a little known feature called argument completers.

Dan Franciscus avatar

Measuring Reboot Time With PowerShell

6 days ago | Dan Franciscus

In enterprise environments, you will usually find an array of different Windows operating systems, hardware and of course software. Typically, machines are managed and configured with group policy and SCCM, or perhaps other more modern methods like Chef or Puppet. One of the symptoms of an unhealthy Windows computer is the amount of time it+ Read More The post Measuring Reboot Time With PowerShell appeared first on WinSysBlog.

Adam Bertram avatar

Upgrading to PowerShell 7: A Walkthrough

9 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to update PowerShell to version 7 on a single machine, using a GPO or using PowerShell itself in this step by step walkthrough.

Jonathan Medd avatar

Connecting To An ESXi Host With No Root Password Set

10 days ago | Jonathan Medd

As part of some automated deployment work for ESXi I was assisting a colleague with, they had hit an issue with an out of the box deployment of ESXi beginning with a blank password for the root account. The automation tool of choice Ansible was using an SSH connection to ESXi to make the initial … Continue reading Connecting To An ESXi Host With No Root Password Set →

Adam Bertram avatar

Your Guide to Understanding and Using Windows Environment Variables in PowerShell

10 days ago | Adam Bertram

Understand Windows environment variables in Windows 10 and other OSes, set environment variables with PowerShell and more in this in-depth walkthrough!

Mike Robbins avatar

PowerShell + DevOps Global Summit 2020 – Call for Speakers

10 days ago | Mike Robbins

The call for speakers for the 2020 PowerShell + DevOps Global Summit is open until October 1st. I can definitely speak from experience when I say that this is the best PowerShell conference in North America if you’re interested in PowerShell and networking with other like-minded people. I’ve attended every year since its inception and have spoken at it about half as many times. While I’m in no way affiliated with the organizers, based on their site, they’re not only looking for deep-dive content but also intermediate sessions.

Adam Bertram avatar

PowerCLI Tutorial: A Guide for Newbies Managing VMware

12 days ago | Adam Bertram

Get introduced to the powerful VMware PowerShell module known as PowerCLI. In this PowerCLI tutorial, get up to speed in no time.

Josh King avatar

Can Parallel For Each Loops in PowerShell 7 Tear Me Away from PoshRSJob?

12 days ago | Josh King

PoshRSJob has been my go to module for Parallelization for years... let's see if a head to head test with the new PowerShell 7 feature will change that.

Kamal Farmer avatar

How do I find all groups in common between a set of users in Active Directory?

14 days ago | Kamal Farmer

Nothing fancy here.  For a given set of usernames, show me the common groups that they are *all* in. EG; if I have a list of 20 usernames, I need to check all of their group memberships and find the common thread(s) that run between every user. There are probably a dozen of ways to... Continue reading →

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

What do we say to health checking Active Directory?

14 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

Setting up a new Active Directory is an easy task. You download and install Windows Server, install required roles and in 4 hours or less have a basic Active Directory setup. In an ideal world that would be all and your only task would be to manage users, computers, and groups occasionally creating some Group Policies. Unfortunately, things with Active Directory aren't as easy as I've pictured it. Active Directory is a whole ecosystem and works well ranging from small companies with ten users to 500k users or more (haven't seen one myself - but so they say!).

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Making PowerShellGallery modules Portable

15 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

I'm a big fan of PowerShellGallery. It's easy to use, Microsoft owned, a place to host your PowerShell modules. Every time I release a new PowerShell module, it's readily available for me or anyone with a single command Install-Module. No need to host it yourself, no need to prepare anything - plug & play. Additionally, if your PowerShell module has any dependencies, it will download and install them, so it directly works out of the box.

Luke Murray avatar

Update your Azure Local Network Gateway IP with PowerShell

15 days ago | Luke Murray

One of the issues you face with setting up an Azure Site to Site VPN is making sure that your Azure Local Network Gateway always has your Public/On-premises IP. This setup is fine when used in environments that have Static IPs (and yes if setting this up for a Business or Production, it is highly recommended to have a static IP!). However, when used in environments like my home network or lab environments - which has a Dynamic IP which could change at any time it will cause connectivity issues if your IP changes and the Local Network Gateway is not updated.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Hyper-V storage migration status

16 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Migrate all the things One of the common tasks with Hyper-V is to migrate a VM from one node to another. You can do it the hard way (export/copy/import) or the easy way - with Live Migrate. Sometimes you may want to migrate only storage (one LUN/CSV to another). As always - there are multiple ways to achieve that: Using GUI Using PowerShell Migrate using GUI This is a fairly simple yet boring process.

Tommy Maynard avatar

PowerShell.org New Posts – 08/2019

16 days ago | Tommy Maynard

Here’s my PowerShell.org posts for August 2019. August 2019 AWS Service Acronyms

Adam Bertram avatar

How to Send Office 365 Direct Send/SMTP Client Submission Email (PowerShell)

16 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn two ways to send encrypted email through Office 365 (and unencrypted) using PowerShell with code examples.

Mike Robbins avatar

PowerShell Productivity Hacks: How I use Get-Command

17 days ago | Mike Robbins

If you’ve been using PowerShell for very long at all, then you should already be familiar with Get-Command and Get-Help. While I like to say that Get-Command is for finding commands and Get-Help is for learning how to use those commands once you’ve found them, there is overlap between these two commands depending on how you use them. I believe in following the best practice of not using aliases or positional parameters in any code that I save or share with others, but in this blog article, I’m going to show how things work in the real world.

Mike Kanakos avatar

RTPSUG - RepAdmin: A PowerSheller's Guide to AD Directory Services

18 days ago | Mike Kanakos

This month the Research Triangle PowerShell user's group is proud to be hosting Mathias Jessen in person on September 9th at 6:30 pm EST in Raleigh to do a deep dive exploration of the corners of Active Directory Domain Services most admins probably don’t think about that often.

Quick Blog: Clone Power BI Workspace Permissions

18 days ago | Aaron Nelson

However, one detail they left out of that post is how to clone the users & groups, and their respective permissions from one Workspace to another. It's a pretty simple thing to do, with one not-completely-obvious quirk to it.

Adam Bertram avatar

Managing CSV Files in PowerShell (Import/Export-Csv)

18 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to use the PowerShell Import-Csv and Export-Csv cmdlets to manage CSV files with ease.

Jonathan Medd avatar

PSDayUK 2019 Schedule – Track 3

19 days ago | Jonathan Medd

PSDay.UK 2019 takes place on Saturday 28th September 2019 in Birmingham at the International Convention Centre (ICC) for a fun day learning PowerShell, DevOps, Cloud & Automation from community & industry experts for Beginners to Advanced practitioners. In this short series of posts, I’m going to highlight the three session tracks from which you can pick … Continue reading PSDa

VMware PowerCLI 101

19 days ago

At VMworld US 2019, Kyle Ruddy and I presented a session named “Introduction to PowerCLI.” In it, we demonstrated how to get started with VMware PowerCLI to manage and automate your VMware environments. The goal was to make the command line a little more familiar – and a little less intimidating – especially if you have never used PowerCLI or PowerShell before. About half the session was spent performing a live demo, because my hope is you can follow along back at your desk with the session recording and the exact code I used.

Mike Kanakos avatar

PowerShell Saturday: Raleigh 2019

21 days ago | Mike Kanakos

The Research Triangle PowerShell user group is hosting a PowerShell Saturday event in Raleigh, NC on September 21st and 22nd. Read more for event details.

Josh King avatar

MVP: OMG

21 days ago | Josh King

Today I'm humbled, shocked, and proud to announce that I'm now a Microsoft MVP.

Alain Alain avatar

Research Triangle PowerShell Saturday – September 21st

25 days ago | Alain Alain

Time is running out to attend the Research Triangle PowerShell Saturday. The main conference is on Saturday, September 21st, 2019 in Raleigh, North Carolina. There’s also a concentrated 6-hour security session on Sunday, September 22nd. Tickets can be purchased for one day or both. Seating is limited, however, for the Sunday security session, so get your… Continue reading Research Trian

Shane O'Neill avatar

Splitting Functions from Scripts in bulk

25 days ago | Shane O'Neill

Time to read: 2.5 minutes Words: 504 Previously on… I’ve talked before about a couple of topics that this blog post pertains to Pester Testing Self Contained Scripts introduced Chris Dent’s function Get-FunctionInfo Pester showed me a bug in our existing build process. Can you find it? and Dot Sourcing with PSScriptRoot talked about how … Continue reading "Splitting Functio

Mike Robbins avatar

Research Triangle PowerShell Saturday – September 21st

26 days ago | Mike Robbins

The Research Triangle PowerShell Saturday is Saturday, September 21st, 2019 in Raleigh, North Carolina. There’s also a 6-hour security session on Sunday, September 22nd, 2019. Tickets can be purchased for just one of the days or both, but seating is limited for the Sunday post-con so don’t wait until the last minute! Based on the schedule, this event should be almost like a mini PowerShell + DevOps Global Summit which makes it well worth the price of admission.

Jonathan Medd avatar

PSDayUK 2019 Schedule – Track 2

26 days ago | Jonathan Medd

PSDay.UK 2019 takes place on Saturday 28th September 2019 in Birmingham at the International Convention Centre (ICC) for a fun day learning PowerShell, DevOps, Cloud & Automation from community & industry experts for Beginners to Advanced practitioners. In this short series of posts, I’m going to highlight the three session tracks from which you can pick … Continue reading PSDa

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Comparing two or more objects visually in PowerShell (cross-platform)

28 days ago | Przemyslaw Klys

For the last few weeks I'm working on a small project, that should be released within next few weeks (it is open source so don't worry - you'll get to play with it). This project requires me to compare two or more objects and tell if those are equal and if those aren't to what degree. Of course, PowerShell offers built-in functionality via Compare-Object command. It's mighty but it leaves comparing differences, different properties to you.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

PPoSh Meetup 16 - Back to School

one month ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Intro After some time - 6 months in fact - we were finally able to meet again. At first we had to postpone PPoSh Meetups because of various personal matters. Then I was attending PSConfEU and had to prepare my talks there. Then Summer Break. But… At the PSConfEU both Bartek Bielawski and Jakub Jareš asked me if I’m planning any Meetups. Well, you can’t say no to this :smile:. Again, thanks to Obejctivity we were able to meet and - suprise, surprise - talk about Pester all day long.

PowerShell Tip: Use a Code Editor

one month ago

Don’t get me wrong, there’s a time and a place for Notepad++. There was a point in time where I preached how amazing the editor was for all purposes, even for PowerShell! That time is over. As our code increases in complexity, we need a code editor that can keep up with the workload. With Notepad++ and other basic text editors, we have a much harder time doing any code troubleshooting or any debugging on the fly.

Mike Robbins avatar

Parallel and ThrottleLimit Parameters added to ForEach-Object in PowerShell 7 Preview 3

one month ago | Mike Robbins

Preview 3 of PowerShell 7 was released yesterday. It can be downloaded from the PowerShell repository on GitHub. Be sure to choose the preview version for the appropriate operating system. It should go without saying that anything with preview in its name should NOT be installed on a mission-critical production system. The examples shown in this blog article are being run on a system running Windows 10 (x64).

Sergey Vasin avatar

Getting and changing site admins in SharePoint Server with PowerShell

one month ago | Sergey Vasin

In the previous post we discussed SharePoint Online cloud service. Now, let’s talk about SharePoint farm deployed on premises. We can specify Primary and Secondary site collection administrators in the SharePoint Central Administration portal by clicking on Application Management and… Continue reading →

Cláudio Silva avatar

More PowerShell Remoting coverage in dbatools

one month ago | Cláudio Silva

Starting on dbatools version 1.0.31 we introduced better coverage for commands that make use of PowerShell Remoting. Which commands? Commands like Get-DbaComputerCertificate, Get-DbaPrivilege, Get-DbaClientAlias, just to mention a few of them, make use of the internal function Invoke-Command2 which uses New-PSSession when we run it against a remote computer.   “Why have you changed it?&

Jonathan Medd avatar

PSDayUK 2019 Schedule – Track 1

one month ago | Jonathan Medd

PSDay.UK 2019 takes place on Saturday 28th September 2019 in Birmingham at the International Convention Centre (ICC) for a fun day learning PowerShell, DevOps, Cloud & Automation from community & industry experts for Beginners to Advanced practitioners. In this short series of posts, I’m going to highlight the three session tracks from which you can pick … Continue reading PSDa

Sergey Vasin avatar

Получение и изменение списка администраторов сайта SharePoint Server при помощи PowerShell

one month ago | Sergey Vasin

В предыдущем посте мы рассматривали облачный сервис SharePoint Online. Теперь давайте поговорим о ферме SharePoint, развернутой локально. Мы можем указать первичного (Primary) и вторичного (Secondary) администраторов коллекции сайтов SharePoint в портале SharePoint Central Administration, выбрав в меню пункт Application Management… Читать далее →

Emmanuel Demilliere avatar

Invoke-Command Remote Variables PowerShell

one month ago | Emmanuel Demilliere

Invoke-Command Remote Variables PowerShell Hello, Invoke-Command is great to use one of the “fan out” parallel execution possibilities with PowerShell. Indeed, by default it can execute the same command on 32 servers, simultaneously, without knowing anything about threads or runspaces. … Continue reading → The post Invoke-Command Remote Variables PowerShell appeared first on IT for Dummies.

Bradley Wyatt avatar

ChatOps: Setting up PoshBot for Microsoft Teams

one month ago | Bradley Wyatt

PoshBot is a chat bot written in PowerShell and created by DevBlackOps. ‘It makes extensive use of classes introduced in PowerShell 5.0. PowerShell modules are loaded into PoshBot and instantly become available as bot commands.’1 PoshBot can do pretty much anything you configure it to do. You can have it create Azure servers, reset Active Directory passwords, create and modify help desk tickets, license Office 365 users, etc.

Mike Robbins avatar

Presenting 2 Sessions in the All Day Dedicated PowerShell Track at SQL Saturday Baton Rouge this Saturday August 17th, 2019

one month ago | Mike Robbins

I’ll be presenting “PowerShell + SQL Server = Better Together” and “Writing Award Winning PowerShell Functions and Script Modules” at SQL Saturday #867 in Baton Rouge Louisiana this Saturday, August 17th. The event is free, although you need to register. Here’s a little information about what you can expect from my sessions: PowerShell + SQL Server = Better Together As a SQL Server professional, are you able to make a rhyme or reason to this thing called PowerShell? Need to accomplish something? Do you use Windows PowerShell or PowerShell Core? How will you interface with PowerShell? With the PowerShell console, ISE, VSCode, SAPIEN PowerShell Studio, or something else? Will you use Cmdlets from one of the various SQL related PowerShell modules? If so, which one? SQLPS, SQLServer, DBATools, etc.

Sergey Vasin avatar

Getting and changing site admins in SharePoint Online with PowerShell

one month ago | Sergey Vasin

In the SharePoint Online admin portal we can specify the primary admin and the list of other admins in the properties menu of the site. Let’s look at how we can do it in PowerShell. Prologue To interact with SharePoint… Continue reading →

Shane O'Neill avatar

Dot Sourcing with PSScriptRoot

one month ago | Shane O'Neill

TL;DR: Use . $PSScriptRoot\ instead of . .\ if you’re using where the script is as a reference to load other files. Words: 1033 Time to read: ~ 5 minutes Update (2019-08-14): Thanks to Cory Knox ( twitter | github | twitch ) pointed out that $PSScriptRoot is not available in PS2. I wrote before … Continue reading "Dot Sourcing with PSScriptRoot"

Sergey Vasin avatar

Получение и изменение списка администраторов сайта в SharePoint Online при помощи PowerShell

one month ago | Sergey Vasin

В портале администрирования SharePoint Online мы можем указать как первичного администратора — Primary Admin, так и остальных администраторов в свойствах сайта. Давайте рассмотрим, как это сделать при помощи PowerShell. Пролог Для взамодействия с SharePoint Online через PowerShell, нам потребуется модуль… Читать далее →

Przemyslaw Klys avatar

Formatting and minifying resources (HTML, CSS, JavaScript) with PowerShell

one month ago | Przemyslaw Klys

When you work with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, you often meet three versions on how those are stored in files - minified, formatted, somewhere in the middle (usually a total mess). I have all three versions in my PSWriteHTML module. Some are minified 3rd party resources, some are generated by my PowerShell commands (and are a total mess when it comes to formatting), and finally, some are formatted resources by using built-in VSCode features.