Alexander Koehler avatar

Goldener Oktober; neue Partnerschaft mit jobsora.com

an hour ago | Alexander Koehler

Eine weitere Partnerschaft hat sich im Oktober kurzfristig ergeben. Ich freue mich, dass mein Blog inzwischen so beliebt ist, dass größere Portale verlinkt werden wollen. Vielen Dank an Jobsora für die Verlinkung meines Blogs. Mit Jobsora müssen Sie nicht mehr zahlreiche Websites besuchen, um die nächste Stufe Ihrer Entwicklung zu erreichen. So sparen Sie Zeit […] Der Beitrag Goldener Oktober; neue Partnerschaft mit jobsora.

Adam Bertram avatar

Writing an Extension Vault for PowerShell SecretManagement Preview 4

10 hours ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to build an extension vault using the PowerShell SecretManagement module, step-by-step with a great example! The post Writing an Extension Vault for PowerShell SecretManagement Preview 4 appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Xajuan Smith avatar

Community blog ideas?

yesterday | Xajuan Smith

What would you like to see blogged or explained? Leave your thoughts below.

Adam Bertram avatar

Creating Adaptive Cards via Teams Incoming Webhooks Using PowerShell

yesterday | Adam Bertram

Customize the look of Teams by creating your own cards in channels. Create them with incoming Teams webhooks and a little PowerShell! The post Creating Adaptive Cards via Teams Incoming Webhooks Using PowerShell appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Bradley Wyatt avatar

Get Early Voting Locations, Drop Off Ballot Sites, and Election Polling Places with PowerShell

4 days ago | Bradley Wyatt

The 2020 Election is happening on November 3rd, and many people have been lining up to vote early due to COVID-19. Now using PowerShell, you can get your registered polling places based on your address, all early voting locations around you, and drop off ballot locations. All of the information is retrieved using Google’s Civic Information API. Features Early Voting Locations To get early voting locations you can use Get-EarlyVotingPlaces or Get-EarlyPollingPlaces.

Bradley Wyatt avatar

Text your Azure Infrastructure with Serverless Computing and PowerShell

5 days ago | Bradley Wyatt

Due to COVID-19 and social distancing, I have found myself camping a lot more than in previous years. One problem that has brought with it is the high probability of being somewhere with no cell phone data service or poor cell phone data. Couple with my incredibly poor memory, I have often forgotten to turn off servers to save on cost in my dev or test environment until I’m out in the woods. Also, I wanted the ability to use Google Voice as well as Siri in my car or even at home, to turn off, turn on, or check the status of my servers in my Azure tenants.

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – October 23, 2020

5 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Automating with PowerShell: Changing Modern and Basic authentication settings

5 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

A friend of mine recently asked the question on how he could edit the Modern Authentication settings in Office365. He found that when he went to the new Settings Pane for Modern Authentication he could change settings specifically to block older clients. If you don’t know where to find this, check it out in your […] The post Automating with PowerShell: Changing Modern and Basic authentication settings appeared first on CyberDrain.

Jerome Bezet-Torres avatar

VMware Lab WPF

5 days ago | Jerome Bezet-Torres

This application permit to create some lab in VMware Workstation I used a wrapper to interact with it. 0. What you need A strong computer with CPU and some RAM I have 64Gb RAM and 1 To SSD NVme Nested appliance create by William @Lamw here VMware vSphere ISO for your VCSA and extract the OVA 1. The Section Info I this first section the application find some information about your PC and about VMware Workstation version.

Andy Levy avatar

Shell to Script Shortcut

7 days ago | Andy Levy

I’ve been meaning to write something this post for a while but the stars have aligned this week. Garry Bargsley (blog | twitter) published a post about making a schema-only copy of a database on the day that I needed to solve that exact problem. But that’s not what this is about. It’s just a…The post Shell to Script Shortcut appeared first on FLX SQL with Andy Levy.


Adam Bertram avatar

How to Set Up and Manage Scheduled Tasks with PowerShell

8 days ago | Adam Bertram

Use PowerShell to create and manage scheduled tasks made possible with the use of the Scheduled Tasks module. The post How to Set Up and Manage Scheduled Tasks with PowerShell appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Open Up Wide with PowerShell

9 days ago | Jeff Hicks

A few weeks ago, an Iron Scripter PowerShell scripting challenge was posted. The challenge involved wide directory listings. Which always makes me think “open wide”, which leads me to “Open Up Wide” by Chase. (I used to play trumpet and Chase was THE band back in the day). Anyway, solving the challenge most likely involves...

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring driver issues & Monitoring ZeroLogon

9 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

So today I’m tackling two monitoring blogs again. We’re going to have a small script that checks if all devices currently have drivers installed, and if they are not in a alerting state. This is mostly useful for when a docking station or network card, or other USB device is having issues and reporting that […] The post Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring driver issues & Monitoring ZeroLogon appeared first on CyberDrain.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Discovering Custom PowerShell Views

12 days ago | Jeff Hicks

The other day I shared some ideas on why and how you might want to build a custom format view in PowerShell. As I mentioned in that article, PowerShell ships with a number of custom views for different types of objects. How did I know that view existed? What other views exist that I don’t...

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – October 16, 2020

12 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Automating with PowerShell: Creating your own password push

12 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

I was recently talking with some friends in MSPGeek about Password pushing options, and that it’s kind of strange of relying on a third party closed service to generate and send passwords to clients. You’re not 100% in control and often it misses some form of functionality like a password generator or somesuch. As an […] The post Automating with PowerShell: Creating your own password push appeared first on CyberDrain.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Easy PowerShell Custom Formatting

13 days ago | Jeff Hicks

One of the features I truly enjoy about PowerShell, is the ability to have it present information that I need in a form that I want. Here’s a good example. Running Get-Process is simple enough and the output is pretty complete. But one thing that would make it better for me, is that sometimes I...

Adam Bertram avatar

How to Use PowerShell to Reboot Remote Computers

13 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn ALL the ways to use PowerShell to reboot a remote computer in this example-driven tutorial. By the end, you'll be using PowerShell to restart all computers! The post How to Use PowerShell to Reboot Remote Computers appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Presentation - Beyond Pester 101

14 days ago

PowerShell & DevOps Global Conference 2020 - Online Edition We see a lot talks on testing PowerShell with Pester, but are the tests we write good tests? What makes a test “good”? How do we measure how effective our tests are? This talk will help you answer these questions, including why testing is important and how to apply these principles to your project. Event details Presentation Recording - TBA Resources Types of software testing https://www.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 16 - Managing Security Operations

14 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 16 goes over securely provisioning resources, understanding and applying foundational security operations concepts, applying resource protection techniques, implementing and supporting patch and vulnerability management, understanding and participating in change management, and addressing personnel safety and security concerns. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Adam Bertram avatar

Getting Started in Web Automation with PowerShell and Selenium

14 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to get started in web automation with PowerShell and Selenium and automate web-related tasks on web browsers. The post Getting Started in Web Automation with PowerShell and Selenium appeared first on Adam the Automator.


Saggie Haim avatar

Deploy Azure Sentinel to a multi-tenancy environment

14 days ago | Saggie Haim

Azure Sentinel is a scalable, cloud-native, SIEM and SOAR solution. The challenge begins when you have a multi-tenancy environment to monitor. Learn how Azure Lighthouse enables cross- and multi-tenant management, automation, and scalability.

Adam Bertram avatar

How to Recover Objects with the Active Directory Recycle Bin

15 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn, by example, how to recover deleted objects from Active Directory with the Active Directory Recycle Bin in this tutorial (including both GUI and PowerShell). The post How to Recover Objects with the Active Directory Recycle Bin appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Mike Kanakos avatar

Getting familiar with Invoke-Item in PowerShell

16 days ago | Mike Kanakos

Invoke-Item is a cmdlet that is not used frequently in PowerShell. Learn how it can save time and speed up tasks.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Automating with PowerShell: Enabling Secure Defaults (And SD explained)

16 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

In one of the groups I am in there was some confusion about how Secure Defaults work and how to deploy the Secure Defaults centrally, so I figured I would try to help with this. Secure Defaults is Microsoft’s answer to our questions about deploying multi factor authentication to an entire tenant, of course security […] The post Automating with PowerShell: Enabling Secure Defaults (And SD explained) appeared first on CyberDrain.

Kiran Patnayakuni avatar

Azure PowerShell - Getting Started (Presentation)

17 days ago | Kiran Patnayakuni

About me I am Kiran Patnayakuni Working as a Cloud Ops Engineering Specialist I blog at https://kpatnayakuni.com I am a moderator and ICYMI editor @ PowerShell.org Follow me on Session link kpatnayakuni.com/azps Session recordings kpatnayakuni.com/azpspl My special thanks to Heartin J. Kanikathottu and                     Azure Cloud FB Group Abstract Azure PowerShell is used to automate, manage and administrate the Microsoft Azure Services.

Jan Egil Ring avatar

Introducing the Privileged Identity Management Tools PowerShell module (PIMTools)

18 days ago | Jan Egil Ring

Introduction Privileged Identity Management (PIM) is a service in Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) that enables you to manage, control, and monitor access to important resources in your organization. These resources include resources in Azure AD, Azure, and other Microsoft Online Services such as Microsoft 365 or Microsoft Intune. The feature provides just-in-time privileged access to Azure AD and Azure resources, and it can be customized per role to for example require approval by designated approvers as well as enforce multi-factor authentication when activating a role.

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – October 9, 2020

19 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Adam Bertram avatar

How to Enable and Configure Azure JIT for VMs

20 days ago | Adam Bertram

If you need better control over VM management, lock down those ports with Azure JIT! Learn how in this informative, step-by-step tutorial. The post How to Enable and Configure Azure JIT for VMs appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Documenting with PowerShell: Autotask Stack Documentation

21 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

This blog is based on Gavin Stones amazing work on gavsto.com. Gavin is a good friend of mine and he helps out our community a lot. As before I worked with his glance cards within IT-Glue that make documentation prettier. When he showed me how he used the Glance cards to create a stack overview […] The post Documenting with PowerShell: Autotask Stack Documentation appeared first on CyberDrain.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 15 - Security Assessment and Testing

21 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 15 is a hefty chapter which covers designing and validating assessment, test, and audit strategies, conducting security control testing, collecting security process data, and then analyzing test output, and conducting security audits. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2. I went about studying for the test a few ways: I used the PocketPrep app I attended a study bootcamp I did a bunch of practice tests And finally… I got the ISC2 CISSP official study guide - I read it cover to cover, and highlighted and annotated the entire thing.

Adam Bertram avatar

Creating Your First Azure PowerShell Function App

21 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to take your PowerShell scripts from on-prem to the Azure cloud by building an Azure Functions app. The post Creating Your First Azure PowerShell Function App appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 14 - Controlling and Monitoring Access

22 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 14 is about identity and access management (IAM), and discusses all kinds of different access control: role based, rule based, mandatory,discretionary, and attribute based. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2. I went about studying for the test a few ways: I used the PocketPrep app I attended a study bootcamp I did a bunch of practice tests And finally… I got the ISC2 CISSP official study guide - I read it cover to cover, and highlighted and annotated the entire thing.

Adam Bertram avatar

How To Commit Changes To A New Container Image With Docker Commit

22 days ago | Adam Bertram

Do you need to make changes or commit new changes to your Docker images? Learn how in this extensive walkthrough on using docker commit. The post How To Commit Changes To A New Container Image With Docker Commit appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Alexander Koehler avatar

Top Neuigkeiten: Neue Partnerschaft mit jooble.org

23 days ago | Alexander Koehler

Einige Tage sind seit der ersten Mail mit Max von Jooble vergangen. Er hatte mich gefragt ob ich mir eine Partnerschaft vorstellen könne. Ich dachte mir dann “warum nicht”. Jooble ist eine Jobsuchmaschine für Stellen rund um den Globus. Mein Blog ist nun auf der powershell devops Seite verlinkt. Vielen Dank an Jooble für die […] Der Beitrag Top Neuigkeiten: Neue Partnerschaft mit jooble.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 13 - Managing Identity and Authentication

23 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 13 is an important chapter that gets into controlling physical and logical access to assets, managing identification and authentication of people, devices and services, integrating identity as a third-party service, and managing the identity and access provisioning lifecycle. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2.

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Automating with PowerShell: Deploying Azure Functions

23 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

First I have to make a little comment about the previous weekend; namely I’ve been awarded the Microsoft MVP status last Thursday. It’s still a surreal and bizarre experience really. I’d like to thank all my readers and my friends for supporting me. It’s great to get the acknowledgement that I’m doing the right thing […] The post Automating with PowerShell: Deploying Azure Functions appeared first on CyberDrain.

Roberth Strand avatar

Using GitHub actions to run automatic Pester tests

24 days ago | Roberth Strand

I used a long time before looking into Pester to test my code. Or, worded differently, for the longest time I was not testing my code. But as soon as I started creating PowerShell modules that was more than just small time projects, I had to step up the production quality. As soon as I had written some tests, I wanted to have those tests run every time I did a pull request. This helps me catch bugs before publishing the new version of my module, and saves me from a ton of stress.

Thomas Lee avatar

Open Sourcing of PowerShell Documents is Awesome

26 days ago | Thomas Lee

Ever since the very first version of Windows PowerShell, the built-in help material has been awesome. Each cmdlet carefully documented with good examples to illustrate the most common use cases. Good English writing as well as best-practice PowerShell.But every now and then there is an error. Some simple, some more complex. Some occasionally have some less than great grammar or miss out a useful example of the cmdlet.

Matthew Dowst avatar

PowerShell Weekly – October 2, 2020

26 days ago | Matthew Dowst

Here is your weekly round up of what is happening in the world of PowerShell. Do you have a suggestion for this post? Do you know something that should be included? Let me know in the comments below, or on twitter.

Jeff Hicks avatar

PowerShell Color Combos

27 days ago | Jeff Hicks

A lot of my PowerShell work lately has involved color. I find myself using ANSI escape sequences quite often. I’m also playing with different color schemes in Windows Terminal. And I still on occasion find myself using Write-Host to display colorized messages. What has gotten trickier is that Windows Terminal schemes can redefine colors. What...

Kelvin Tegelaar avatar

Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring Dynamic VHDX files.

27 days ago | Kelvin Tegelaar

Using Dynamic VHDX files isn’t a real big problem in most cases – Especially when you pay a lot of attention to how your storage layer is designed and how you’ll give VM access to that data, but at times with many administrators it can become confusing to monitor if the dynamic disk total does […] The post Monitoring with PowerShell: Monitoring Dynamic VHDX files. appeared first on CyberDrain.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Answering the WSMan PowerShell Challenge

28 days ago | Jeff Hicks

Today, I thought I’d share my solution to a recent Iron Scripter challenge. I thought this was a fascinating task and one with a practical result.  I’d encourage you to try your hand at the challenge and come back later to see how I tackled it. The challenge is not only a good test of...

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 11 - Secure Network Architecture and Securing Network Components

28 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 11 goes over a lot of networking topics including the OSI and TCP/IP models, IP networking, multilayer protocols, converged protocols, software-defined networks, wireless networks, and a whole bunch of hardware items. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2. I went about studying for the test a few ways: I used the PocketPrep app I attended a study bootcamp I did a bunch of practice tests And finally… I got the ISC2 CISSP official study guide - I read it cover to cover, and highlighted and annotated the entire thing.

Thomas Rayner avatar

CISSP Study Notes Chapter 12 - Secure Communications and Network Attacks

28 days ago | Thomas Rayner

Chapter 12 gets into implementing secure communications channels according to design for voice, multimedia, remote access, data communications, and virtualized networks. Last summer I spent about a month studying for and getting my Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification from ISC2. I went about studying for the test a few ways: I used the PocketPrep app I attended a study bootcamp I did a bunch of practice tests And finally… I got the ISC2 CISSP official study guide - I read it cover to cover, and highlighted and annotated the entire thing.

Mike Robbins avatar

Video: Automatically Migrate your Scripts from AzureRM to the Az PowerShell Module

29 days ago | Mike Robbins

As many of you know, I’m a Senior Content Developer for Azure PowerShell at Microsoft. Today we announced the Az.Tools.Migration PowerShell module which is a toolkit for automatically migrating your PowerShell scripts and modules from AzureRM to the Az PowerShell module. The video shown below demonstrates how to use this module: Be sure to see the official announcement that I wrote on the Microsoft Tech Community blog site.

Adam Bertram avatar

Get-GpoReport: How to Build Fancy GPO Reports with PowerShell

29 days ago | Adam Bertram

Learn how to use the Get-GPOReport PowerShell cmdlet to generate some informational reports in this blog post walkthrough. The post Get-GpoReport: How to Build Fancy GPO Reports with PowerShell appeared first on Adam the Automator.

Jerome Bezet-Torres avatar

WPF Tips

29 days ago | Jerome Bezet-Torres

I will start some post around WPF and PowerShell with XAML and I give you some Tips for your applications Today I start this series with Variables in your project. the First question is “How to find variables into your XAML files ?” There is multiple ways, for example we start with the same XAML file. <Controls:MetroWindow Name="MainPanel" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation" xmlns:behaviors="http://schemas.