Visual Studio Code and Azure DevOps (formerly VisualStudio.com) Integration Step-by-Step

4 hours ago | David Hall

My previous video walked through the process of using the old Visual Studio Team Services VS Code extension. That extension has now been deprecated. With the latest version or VS Code (I installed v 1.28.1) you should see the Azure Repos extension baked into VS Code. The only other requirement

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

AntiAffinity Groups in Failover Cluster. Part 4

2 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

AntiAffinity Part 1 covers some theory and GUI configuration. Part 2 focus on setting Preferred Owners with PowerShell. Part 3 explained logic behind Possible Owners in PowerShell function. Part 4 (this) will cover the last step – setting anti-affinity groups. Part 5 will describe reporting of current configuration in the cluster. Today is a quick … Continue reading AntiAffinity Groups in Failover Cluster.

Tommy Maynard avatar

Skip Process and End Blocks

3 days ago | Tommy Maynard

I started to reply to this recent Tweet on Twitter when I stopped and jumped into a new post here instead. It’s been awhile, but I’ve found a Tweet I couldn’t reply to in the allotted characters allowed by Twitter (these days). This isn’t to say I reply to everything. It does say however, that […]

Adam Bertram avatar

Using Infrastructure as Code and AWS’ CloudFormation Service

3 days ago | Adam Bertram

This video and post are sponsored by N2W Software. If you’re in the market for an AWS backup and/or disaster recovery service, I highly encourage you to check them out. Infrastructure as Code (IaC) is an excellent way to automate and deploy infrastructure components. IaC allows organizations to define entire application stacks in easy-to-understand code […] The post Using Infrastructure as Code and AWS’ CloudFormation Service appeared first on Adam the Automator - DevOps, Automation, PowerShell.

Tommy Maynard avatar

Run One from the Other

3 days ago | Tommy Maynard

It wasn’t but a few days ago that I saw something that piqued my interest. It was an example of running a command against PowerShell Core (pwsh.exe) from Windows PowerShell (powershell.exe), or maybe it was the other way around? Whichever, I’ve included an image that shows this working in both directions. That’s to say it’s […]

Mike Robbins avatar

Use PowerShell to Monitor IIS Websites and Application Pools

3 days ago | Mike Robbins

I recently received a request to write a script for monitoring IIS websites and their application pools on a specific Windows 2012 R2 server and start them if they were stopped. This is something I created fairly quickly and thought I would share. I always try to centralize any scripts I write and have them run on a job server instead of the actual server they’re querying. That way I don’t have multiple versions of the same script floating around on different servers.

Glenn Sarti avatar

Presentation - Beyond Pester 101

4 days ago | Glenn Sarti

PowerShell Conference Asia 2018 We see a lot talks on testing PowerShell with Pester, but are the tests we write good tests? What makes a test “good”? How do we measure how effective our tests are? This talk will help you answer these questions, including why testing is important and how to apply these principles to your project. Event details - TBA Presentation Recording - TBA Resources Types of software testing https://www.

Tommy Maynard avatar

Command Type and Name

4 days ago | Tommy Maynard

Sometimes I just need to write something down somewhere. That way, I might be able to find what I need when I need it. Have you been to my website? If so, then just maybe you already know this. Over the last many years, I’ve done this repeatedly. It’s basically why this place exists. Best […]

Prateek Singh avatar

4 Ways to Find OS Architecture using PowerShell (32 or 64 bit)

5 days ago | Prateek Singh

Video Tutorial OS Architecture (32 or 64 bit) using PowerShell Today we are going to discuss about 4 ways to find OS architecture using PowerShell and check if it is... The post 4 Ways to Find OS Architecture using PowerShell (32 or 64 bit) appeared first on Ridicurious.

Tommy Maynard avatar

Making Dates: Good and Better

5 days ago | Tommy Maynard

I have a new task. Review some old code written in the time of (Windows) PowerShell 2.0 ensuring I can support it, in case that’s ever needed. Well, I started last week. While I haven’t been able to get back to it just yet, as some other work came up, I did code a potential […]

Warren Frame avatar

The 2019 PowerShell and DevOps Global Summit CFP

5 days ago | Warren Frame

Overview Rambling Deciding The Basics The Good Things Things that didn’t help Logistics and balance So you want to speak at the summit Some CFP Stats How did you work on the CFP? Things that worked Things that didn’t work Rambling Whew! It’s been a fun and busy few weeks. I’ve been working with Missy on reviewing proposals for the 2019 PowerShell + DevOps Global Summit.

Prateek Singh avatar

4 Ways to Create PowerShell Objects

6 days ago | Prateek Singh

Video Tutorial Create PowerShell Objects PowerShell is object based scripting language and it is good practice to create objects to return, store and manipulate information instead of text. But are... The post 4 Ways to Create PowerShell Objects appeared first on Ridicurious.

Kevin Marquette avatar

Powershell: Everything you wanted to know about arrays

7 days ago | Kevin Marquette

Arrays are a fundamental language feature of most programming languages. They are a collection of values or objects and are therefore, difficult to avoid. Let’s take a close look at arrays and everything they have to offer. Page Index Page Index What is an array? Basic usage Create an array...

Dave Carroll avatar

How I Implement Module Variables

8 days ago | Dave Carroll

Preface Originally, I used globally scoped variables for my PoShDynDnsApi module to store the API URL, the authentication token, and the API version. These three variables were created during the initial connection to the service then updated or removed as needed. A week or so ago, I was talking with a previous co-worker, Steven Maglio, that just happens to be a .Net developer. We were reminiscing and checking out some PowerShell code that we’d written.

Mike Kanakos avatar

PowerShell Summit 2019 - I am a presenter!

8 days ago | Mike Kanakos

I'll be a presenter at the PowerShell Summit in April 2019 and talking about Active Directory Heath Checks

Pawel Jarosz avatar

Multiple node graphs on ZABBIX dashboards using Grafana.

10 days ago | Pawel Jarosz

Just recently ZABBIX 4.0 came out, so I thought we will finally get ability to display values from multiole hosts on one graph – unfortunately not. BUT! There s a way to have it directly in ZABBIX dashboards – using Grafana. Firtstly we need to install grafana – all stuff about how to do it … Continue reading Multiple node graphs on ZABBIX dashboards using Grafana.

Pawel Jarosz avatar

How to clear iptables rules and save them on Ubuntu.

10 days ago | Pawel Jarosz

Just recently I’ve been testing something on an appliance with Ubuntu, and wanted to clear out all of the iptables entries, this is what worked for me: http://wiki.loovsys.eu/index.php/Clear_all_iptable_rules_and_allow_everything iptables -F iptables -X iptables -t nat -F iptables -t nat -X iptables -t mangle -F iptables -t mangle -X iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT iptables -P FORWARD … Continue reading How to clear iptables rules and save them on Ubuntu.

Jeff Hicks avatar

Creating Colorful HTML Disk Reports with PowerShell

10 days ago | Jeff Hicks

I have no idea what possessed me, but the other day I came across an older script that uses PowerShell to create an HTML report showing drive utilization for a group of computers. The utilization is displayed using a color gradient from green to red to provide a visual reference. As I looked at the […]

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Possible Owner in Failover Cluster. Part 3

10 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Possible Owner Part 1 covers some theory and GUI configuration. Part 2 focus on setting Preferred Owners with PowerShell. Part 3 (this) will explain logic behind Possible Owners in PowerShell function. Part 4 will cover the last step – setting anti-affinity groups. Part 5 will describe reporting of current configuration in the cluster. Today let’s … Continue reading Possible Owner in Failover Cluster.

Nicholas Getchell avatar

PSGitLab v3.0.1 Released

11 days ago | Nicholas Getchell

A ton of work went into the v3 version of PSGitLab, both on my part and that of the community. There are new contributors as well as familiar names in the changelog and I am thankful for all of the help. My goal of releasing an open source project to help others has been greatly exceeded by the contribution of those in the PowerShell community. Over the next few months, I hope to make it easier for new contributors to jump in and add coverage to the GitLab API.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Preferred Owner in Failover Cluster. Part 2

11 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Preffered Owner Part 1 covers some theory and GUI configuration. Part 2 will focus on setting Preferred Owners with Powershell. Part 3 will explain logic behind Possible Owners in PowerShell function. Part 4 will cover the last step – setting anti-affinity groups. Part 5 will describe reporting of current configuration in the cluster. In first … Continue reading Preferred Owner in Failover Cluster.

Prateek Singh avatar

PowerShell Guide to Python SubString

12 days ago | Prateek Singh

PowerShell String Slicing PowerShell and Python, both treat Strings as an array of characters, so we can use an array’s functionality called “slicing” on our strings to substring a string,... The post PowerShell Guide to Python SubString appeared first on Ridicurious.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Preferred Owner, Possible Owner and Anti-Affinity Groups in Failover Cluster. Part 1

12 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Oh my! This is going to be a 5-part blog series. Part 1 (this part) will cover some theory and GUI configuration. Part 2 will focus on setting Preferred Owners with PowerShell. Part 3 will explain logic behind Possible Owners in PowerShell function. Part 4 will cover the last step – setting anti-affinity groups. Part … Continue reading Preferred Owner, Possible Owner and Anti-Affinity Groups in Failover Cluster.

Remote PowerShell Commands With WinRM Disabled And Windows PowerShell

12 days ago | Paul DeArment

WinRM is extremely useful when using Windows Powershell - but what do you do when it is disabled? How do you work with PowerShell on remote machines without breaking security policy? I explore a method to be able to do this using existing remote technologies which will not make security upset at you.

Stephanos Constantinou avatar

PowerShell Switch

13 days ago | Stephanos Constantinou

PowerShell Switch In this tutorial we will see about PowerShell Switch statement and how we are able to use it. When we need to check a condition we are using If statement. In cases we would like to check multiple conditions we can use a Switch statement. The switch statement perform the same job as... Read More The post PowerShell Switch appeared first on Stephanos Constantinou Blog.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Simple VM Inventory

13 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Quicky Another quicky to get all VMs from your hosts/cluster and display some basic information about them like CPU, memory, disk count and size. I can get it using Windows Admin Center or using PowerShell The output looks like this:

Get-ADUser times out after 2 minutes

14 days ago | Paul DeArment

This past week I was approached by a coworker that had a script which was timing out in less than 30 minutes - the default ADWS timeout. They were using get-aduser with a few conditions in the filter parameter, resulting in only about 30 user accounts being returned. The query was randomly timing out and there was no immediate clue as to why in the error message. This is being run against a complex ad environment with 80k+ users in the environment.

Prateek Singh avatar

PowerShell Guide to Python String Formatting

16 days ago | Prateek Singh

String Formatting In this section we will learn various approaches to format strings in Python and PowerShell and what are the similarities between these approaches. Format Operator in PowerShell :... The post PowerShell Guide to Python String Formatting appeared first on Ridicurious.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

VMs from cluster with given IP

16 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Quicky I had to find some information about certain VMs from my clusters and Hyper-V hosts with specific IP address range. It’s rather simple task. Step 1 – Get all VMs from all Hyper-V hosts Step 2 – Query VMNetworkAdapter for specific IP address Step 3 – Select interesting properties

Tommy Maynard avatar

Those AWS Region Commands

17 days ago | Tommy Maynard

More and more, Amazon Web Services has become a significant part of my day. Luckily for me, PowerShell and AWS, work well together. There’s long been the AWSPowerShell module, which much like the AWS CLI, allows us to issue API calls to AWS from a command line. As a part of continuing my journey into […]

Josh King avatar

Crouton #9 - Free, with Attribution

17 days ago | Josh King

Where did that toast come from? Who cooked it?! If only it was attributed to someone...

Shane O'Neill avatar

Finding Aliases for Parameters in PowerShell

17 days ago | Shane O'Neill

Going concise as possible WAS bad practice at one stage!

Paolo Frigo avatar

MS SQL DB Backup and Restore with Powershell

17 days ago | Paolo Frigo

Microsoft SQL Server is such a popular product that needs no introduction. Like every robust piece of software it requires knowledge and experience to be maintained properly… and that’s is the reason for DBA existence, right? I’m just joking! Keys to success Every successful DBMS implementation, or more in general IT System, that I found … Continue reading "MS SQL DB Backup

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Hyper-V Cluster – Get Nodes Memory Usage

17 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Why Similar as before (here) having information about your cluster nodes memory usage can be helpful. Especially when creating a bunch of new VMs. How I can get the information from Failover Cluster Manager (one node at a time): I can get it using Windows Admin Center or I can get it through PowerShell The … Continue reading Hyper-V Cluster – Get Nodes Memory Usage →

Mike Robbins avatar

Use PowerShell to Install the Remote Server Administration Tools (RSAT) on Windows 10 version 1809

18 days ago | Mike Robbins

My computer recently updated to Windows 10 version 1809 and as with all previous major updates of Windows 10, this wipes out the Remote Server Administration Tools (RSAT). However, unlike previous versions, Microsoft has now made RSAT available via Features on Demand and while you’re supposed to be able to install them from the GUI, they never showed up as being an option for me. That’s not really a problem though since they can now be installed via PowerShell.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Full CI/CD PowerShell Module with Plaster

18 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Old Friends Long time ago I’ve created a little helper function to ease the creation of PowerShell modules (link). Since then I’ve learnt a lot of new stuff, but most importantly I’ve met Plaster (repo). I’ve decided to revisit the idea of scaffolding a PowerShell module with Plaster. New Friends I’m using this template for … Continue reading Full CI/CD PowerShe

Stephanos Constantinou avatar

PowerShell Trap

19 days ago | Stephanos Constantinou

PowerShell Trap In this tutorial we will see about PowerShell Trap and how we are able to use it. When there is a terminating error, any statement will stop running. When we are not handling the terminating errors, PowerShell will stop running the function or script in the current pipeline. By using the Trap keyword,... Read More The post PowerShell Trap appeared first on Stephanos Constantinou Blog.

Josh King avatar

I Need You! #Hacktoberfest

19 days ago | Josh King

This is my third Hacktoberfest, the event that made October one of my favorite months of the year!

Adam Bertram avatar

Being Busy Is Just Laziness Disguised as Productivity

20 days ago | Adam Bertram

What I want to talk about today is busyness, time management, that sort of thing. So, what would you say if I told you that being busy is a sign of laziness? It really doesn’t make a whole lot of sense on the surface. We typically think in this society that being busy is a […] The post Being Busy Is Just Laziness Disguised as Productivity appeared first on Adam the Automator - DevOps, Automation, PowerShell.

Rob Sewell avatar

Checking Trace Flags with dbachecks, online docs and PSPowerHour

22 days ago | Rob Sewell

It’s been a few weeks since i have blogged as I have been busy with a lot of other things. One of which is preparing for my SQL Pass Summit pre-con which has lead to me improving the CI/CD for dbachecks by adding auto-creation of online documentation, which you can find at https://dbachecks.readthedocs.io or by running Get-Help with the […]

Jeff Hicks avatar

PowerShell Calendaring Revisited

23 days ago | Jeff Hicks

Early this week, I came across an old snippet of code in my scripts folder, originally published by Lee Holmes. It was an old script, from 2008, on using PowerShell to display a calendar with out of office information.  I seem to recall that I had been trying to do something similar — display a […]

Mike Robbins avatar

Learning about the PowerShell Abstract Syntax Tree (AST)

23 days ago | Mike Robbins

This week, I’ll continue where I left off in my previous blog article “PowerShell Script Module Design Philosophy“. Moving forward, the development versions of my PowerShell script modules will use a non-monolithic design where each function is dot-sourced from the PSM1 file. When I move them to production, I’ll convert them to using a monolithic design where all functions reside in the PSM1 file.

Graham Beer avatar

Formatting objects in PowerShell with Format-Custom, Format-List, Format-Table, and Format-Wide

23 days ago | Graham Beer

This article follows the theme of my last one: Formatting object output in PowerShell with Format.ps1xml files. Here we’ll look at the built-in cmdlets Format-Custom, Format-List, Format-Table, and Format-Wide that PowerShell provides to format your output. From my previous article, we know .format.ps1xml files in the PowerShell installation directory ($pshome) control object formatting. PowerShell provides Format- cmdlets that let the user change object appearance when writing them back to the console.

Dan Franciscus avatar

Running PowerShell In Vagrant

24 days ago | Dan Franciscus

In this article, I will show how to configure a Vagrant box to run PowerShell. One of key features of Vagrant is the ability to configure virtual machines by using not only traditional configuration management solutions such as Puppet, Ansible and Chef; but also with good old shell scripting. Since Vagrant was built with Linux+ Read More The post Running PowerShell In Vagrant appeared first on WinSysBlog.

Stephanos Constantinou avatar

PowerShell Language Keywords

24 days ago | Stephanos Constantinou

PowerShell Language Keywords In this tutorial we will see about PowerShell Language Keywords. PowerShell Keywords are used in order to perform a specific action. For this tutorial we will see the list of keywords and the syntax of each one. In related links section you will be able to find a link for each of... Read More The post PowerShell Language Keywords appeared first on Stephanos Constantinou Blog.

Mateusz Czerniawski avatar

Hyper-V Cluster – Get CSV Usage

25 days ago | Mateusz Czerniawski

Why My daily tasks include maintaining a few Hyper-V Clusters (and other Failover Clusters). All of them are using CSV (Cluster Shared Volumes) – whether it’s 2012R2 cluster with SAN or 2016 with S2D. While in the middle of something (moving VMs, load balancing resources, creating new ones) I need the information of current utilization … Continue reading Hyper-V Cluster – G

Pawel Jarosz avatar

O365 Exchange Hybrid Configuration and ShellId error.

26 days ago | Pawel Jarosz

If you get one of these errors: Error: Updating hybrid configuration failed with error ‘System.Management.Automation.Remoting.PSRemotingTransportException: Processing data from remote server failed with the following error message: [ClientAccessServer=xxxxxxxx,BackEndServer=xxxxxxx,RequestId=xxxxxx, TimeStamp=xxxxx] [FailureCategory=WSMan-InvalidShellID] The request for the Windows Remote Shell with ShellId xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx failed because the shell was not found on the server.

Prateek Singh avatar

PowerShell Guide to Python: Modules

26 days ago | Prateek Singh

Importing Modules Importing Single Module PowerShell provides an Import-module cmdlet to import modules in the current session. # syntax: Import-Module <name of module> Import-Module ActiveDirectory Whereas, Python has a keyword... The post PowerShell Guide to Python: Modules appeared first on Ridicurious.

HPE Synergy Automation - Mounting Virtual Media and Override Boot Order

26 days ago | Paul DeArment

HPE Synergy and OneView not only allows you to create server profiles automatically but also set a one time boot options even on UEFI servers and boot to ISOs which are stored on a web server to install the operating system on multiple servers simultaneously.

Paolo Frigo avatar

How to Upgrade Windows Admin Center with Powershell

26 days ago | Paolo Frigo

As announced few hours ago at Ignite this year Windows Server 2019 will be available this October . But to me my biggest take-away is that Windows Admin Center is been updated to version 1809, to support Windows Server 2019 and Azure hybrid scenarios. Ready for Windows Server 2019 Last week article was about deploying Windows Admin … Continue reading "How to Upgrade Windows Admin Center with